GNS Science Interfaculty Department for Geoinformatics (Z_GIS) Royal HaskoningDHV Deltares Otago Computational Modelling Group

Lead Partners

Institute of Geological & Nuclear Sciences Ltd:

Stewart Cameron, Chris Daughney, Paul White, Uwe Morgenstern, Zara Rawlinson, Mike Friedel, Catherine Moore

(physical/chemical hydrology, 3D geological characterisation of groundwater systems,  numerical modelling, geophysics, groundwater-surface water interaction,  aquifer hydraulics and water dating, computational modelling and uncertainty quantification)

Paris-Lodron University Salzburg, Interfaculty Department for Geoinformatics (Z_GIS):

Hermann Klug (data interoperability, spatial analysis, sensor observation services)

Royal HaskoningDHV:

Floris Verhagen (groundwater-surface water interaction)


Rogier Westerhoff (remote sensing)

Otago Computational Modelling Group Ltd:

Nicholas Dudley Ward (computational modelling and uncertainty quantification)

PhD Students

  • Monique Beyer (novel age tracers)
  • Alexander Kmoch (data synthesis and visualisation)
  • Maryam Moridnejad (groundwater-surface water interaction)
  • Rogier Westerhoff (satellite remote sensing)

Key Stakeholders

Target groups of our research are stakeholders, decision makers and politicians in need of a sound decision support system. Currently we have identified the following organisations as the primary end-users of our research:

  • Auckland Council
  • Bay of Plenty Regional Council
  • Environment Canterbury
  • Environment Southland
  • Environment Waikato
  • Gisborne District Council
  • Greater Wellington Regional Council
  • Hawkes Bay Regional Council
  • Iwi and Maori Groups
  • Land Information New Zealand (LINZ)
  • Manawatu-Wanganui Regional Council (Horizons)
  • Marlborough District Council
  • Ministry for the Environment
  • Ministry of Primary Industries
  • Northland Regional Council
  • Otago Regional Council
  • Taranaki Regional Council
  • Tasman District Council
  • West Coast Regional Council

Advisory Board

Guidance from a stakeholder advisory panel will ensure that our outputs are of the highest technical calibre while also being relevant and properly structured for rapid end-user uptake. Members of the advisory panel are:

EU panel members

  • Rob Ward, Head of Groundwater Science, British Geological Survey
  • Michael Butts, Head of Innovation in Water Resources and Lane Management, DHI-WASY
  • Marc Bierkens, Geographical Hydrology department chair, Utrecht University

NZ panel members

  • John Hadfield, Senior Groundwater Scientist, Waikato Regional Council
  • Ken Taylor, Director of Investigations and Monitoring, Environment Canterbury
  • Vera Power, Manager, Ministry for the Environment